Being a “Hotep Nigga”

The internet. The Internet never ceases to amaze me. Sometimes I really can’t tell if its a good or a bad thing.

I wouldn’t say recently, but it wasn’t too far back in the past when I came across someone referring to an ignorant bigot on the twitter as a “Hotep Nigga”. I was so confused. At first, I couldn’t tell that it was an insult because of my knowledge of the meaning of the word “htp”.

Hotep nigga

The reason I am writing about this is because recently this phrase has become was more prevalent in dialogue even amongst my peers that I interact with on a daily basis. It concerns me, to say the least. I want to know how such a pure and positive word got turned into something so negative.

In my knowledge as infant scholar of the Mdw Ntchr, the language of the ancient Kemetyu ( Egyptians) the word “htp” as it is actually spelled is a shortened version of the phrase “ii.ti m htp”(transliteration) which means “Welcome in Peace”. Many people who know the term today simply have it confused and use it out of context as a greeting.

Now besides the technicalities, it concerns me how knowledge is shunned in this manner. I have actually met more people who know this new “urban” meaning of the word than those who know where it actually even comes from. The Mdw Mtchr is what we as Afrikans have to look to as our classical language just as the europeans did with Latin when they had a cultural renaissance and built what they have today. The negative connotations that are attached to our classical language are what cause people turn their backs on the knowledge and even go as far as having disdain for it.

The power of words is immense. It is important that we think about the words we use and what sort of energies that words are bringing into the universe and what effect they can and will have. “Consciousness” should never have a negative connotation attached to it although that is usually the case when you’re in the minority and misunderstood.

I’m really not one to preach but have this in the back of your mind the next time you see the word and consider whether our classical language is being done justice. Knowledge is power, we all know that 😉 just don’t misuse it because the results are taking us all a step back.

I’ve said my piece.

Izwe lethu

Nfr Sa Ma’at

 

Leave a Reply

